Saturday, June 11, 2016

 Special Event

In Partnership with 

 Join SBWC
in Welcoming 
Multiple Award Winning Authors

Nancy Werlin                      Kristin Cashore                 Annie Hartnett

Friday, June 24, 2016
7:30 PM
Upstairs @ The General
1 Still River Road, Harvard Massachusetts
$5.00 cover 

Nancy Werlin is the author of nine young adult novels in the genres of realistic fiction, fantasy, and suspense. Her novel The Rules of Survival was a finalist for the National Book Award, her novel The Killer’s Cousin won the Edgar award for best mystery, and her novel Impossible was a New York Times bestseller. She lives with her husband in Melrose, and is currently working on a suspense thriller to be published in 2017. Visit her website at for more.

Kristin Cashore wrote the New York Times bestsellers Graceling, Fire, and Bitterblue, all of which have been named ALA Best Books for Young Adults. Graceling is the winner of the 2009 Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children's Literature, Fire is the winner of the Amelia Elizabeth Walden Award, and Bitterblue  is a New York Times Book Review Notable Children’s Book. Graceling is currently scheduled to be published in thirty-three languages. Cashore currently has a realistic YA novel and a cross-genre YA novel in revisions. A native Pennsylvanian, she now lives in the Boston area.

Annie Hartnett's debut novel RABBIT CAKE is forthcoming from Tin House Books in 2017.  She was the 2013-2014 winner of the Writer in Residence Fellowship for the Associates of the Boston Public Library. Annie's stories and essays have appeared in Salon magazine, Indiana Review, Unstuck magazine, and PANK magazine, among others. Annie has an MFA in Fiction from the University of Alabama and has received awards and honors from the Bread Loaf School of English, Indiana Review, and McSweeney's. Annie teaches classes on the short story and the novel at Grub Street, an independent writing center in Boston, and is currently at work on her second novel.

A 2006 National Book Award Finalist

Matt has long since put himself in charge of protecting his younger sisters from their enemy.
Who is their enemy? It's their mother, Nikki O'Grady Walsh.
Matt's done okay. But secretly, inside, he's growing tired and hopeless. Then, suddenly, there's a possible ally on the horizon. Murdoch, his mother's ex-boyfriend, who maybe can help him get rid of his mother—for good.

The Rules of Survival spoke to me. I was there for every minute, reverse-wish-fulfilling as I read. The outcome made knots in my chest come undone.” —Tamora Pierce

A Los Angeles Times Book Prize Finalist

Lucy Scarborough is seventeen when she discovers that the women of her family have been cursed through the generations, forced to attempt three seemingly impossible tasks or to fall into madness upon their child's birth. But Lucy is the first girl who won't be alone as she tackles the list. She has her fiercely protective foster parents beside her. And she has Zach, whose strength amazes her more each day. Do they have enough love and resolve to overcome an age-old evil?

Inspired by the ballad “Scarborough Fair,” the New York Times bestseller Impossible combines suspense, fantasy, and romance to tell a story of love and family conquering all.

“A haunting, thrilling romantic puzzle.” —Gregory Maguire, author of Wicked

In Bitterblue, eighteen-year-old Bitterblue is the queen of a kingdom still in recovery from the reign of its previous king, her father. The influence of Bitterblue's father—a violent psychopath with mind-altering abilities—lives on in Monsea, in ways Bitterblue hasn't yet learned the extent of. Feeling hemmed in by her over-protective and controlling staff, Bitterblue begins sneaking outside the castle to walk the streets of her own city at night—and meets two thieves who hold a key to the truth of her father’s reign.


Rabbit Cake is a darkly comic coming of age novel narrated by
12-year-old Elvis Babbitt. Elvis is reeling from the loss of her
mother, who recently drowned in a sleepwalking episode. Elvis can't
escape the feeling that her mother’s death was suspicious somehow, and
worries that her family won’t ever escape the pull of their mother's

Book signings and sales to follow.  For more information contact

Sunday, June 5, 2016

Bridging Writers Series

Ursula Wong

Monday, June 6, 2016
6:30 - 8:00 PM
Thayer Memorial Library

Join Ursula Wong for a reading from the award-winning Purple Trees, first in a series of novels about strong women.  Against the backdrop of rural Massachusetts, Lily Phillips neglects her own needs to care for sick parents, only to lose them at an early age. Alone and in debt, Lily must grow up fast to find work and build a future. As she marries and has children, the weight of the past threatens everything she loves.  With vignettes from the hay field, the blizzard of 1978, and more, Purple Trees explores this damaged woman’s struggle for normalcy. 

Books signings and sales to follow. 

Ursula Wong grew up on a small family dairy farm near the Quabbin Reservoir, and went on to become a high tech engineer. After retiring, she turned to her dream of writing fiction. Her stories have appeared in Everyday Fiction, Spinetingler Magazine, and the Insanity Tales anthologies.

Her debut novel, Purple Tress, is set on a Massachusetts farm in the 1960s and 1970s, and is the story of a naïve girl who loses her parents to illness, and must grow up fast to survive and build a future, but the weight of the past threatens everything she loves.

Her second novel, Amber Wolf, tells the tale of Ludmelia Kudirka, a young woman who flees to the safety of the forest after she helplessly watches Russian soldiers murder her mother. Vowing vengeance, Ludmelia joins the partisans fighting for freedom in a David-and-Goliath struggle against the mighty Soviet war machine.

Purple Trees is available on Amazon. Look for Amber Wolf in 2016.

Visit Ursula’s popular Reaching Readers Blog on her website